Choose Location

Please enter your town or postcode to see information specific to your local area.

National care standards

The National Care Standards were developed by the Scottish Government to ensure that everyone receives the same high quality of care no matter where they live in Scotland.

The Standards set out what you can expect from the care service you use.  They are written from the point of view of the person using the service in an easy to understand style. They also tell you how to raise any concerns you may have about your care service and how to make a complaint. The Standards are based on six main principles: 

  • dignity
  • privacy
  • choice
  • safety
  • realising potential
  • equality and diversity


You can read or download copies of the National Care Standards for different types of services on the National Care Standards Website. Some of the standards which may apply to the services you use are:

  • Care at home
  • Support services (Day Care)
  • Short breaks and respite care
  • Adult placement services
  • Hospice care
  • Housing support services
  • Nurse agencies
  • Care homes for older people 


 back to top

last updated 07/03/2014